100 Days of Art: Day 4

Each Day I will post a corresponding blog post about each artwork with the title and information about the artwork along with a story behind it.

Day 3 Swallowtail I

Title: Swallowtail I
Size: 5″x5″
Medium: India ink, Orange ink, Canary yellow ink, blue

Paper: 140 lb cold press watercolor paper

I have had a fascination with butterflies for a long time. I have a field guide to butterflies that I bought just so I could draw them. I have always loved the interesting sort of stained glass look of a Swallowtail’s wings. They are so delicate. With this butterfly I did a wash of Canary yellow ink with just a touch of Orange towards the center. I think the small touches of blue are a nice accent. This is one of my favorite of the 100 Drawings so far.

If you are interested in commissioning artwork, please email me at aprilmuschara@gmail.com or visit my website contact page at www.inkedfaithart.com/contact.

Sig

http://www.inkedfaithart.com
http://www.facebook.com/inkedfaithart/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

