Color ink

When most people think of “pen and ink” they think of black and white drawings. When I did a google search of “pen and ink” this is what you find:

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 7.11.24 PM

Nothing out of the ordinary…

When I first fell in love with art, I was 14 years old and in high school. I was in art I and I became fascinated with color. I love it…I knew that if I could add color to something, it’d instantly pop and become something more than I had expected. Fast forward 20 something years and I have been working primarily in black in for the past decade.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love it too. And I have slipped in some color here and there on occasion to create a focal point. But it has always been very simple color, usually only 1 color with no overlaying of colors or any of that “fancy” stuff.

Recently I was drawn back to an old drawing of mine that I had originally created for a chalk art competition at MMFA. I find it one of my best, but I think it may be the color that does it for me:

artwork 010

Of course, I used color pencil here (another personal fav). I don’t know, I look at this and remember how much I enjoyed using color in high school.

So I am going to start experimenting more with color inks…I can’t let go of my methodical crosshatching. It’s just too spiritual to let go of. But, I could take that old plain black ink and jazz it up with some bright jewel tone marks.

I’m really excited about it, any time I add a challenge or some new element I get pretty pumped. Now to just get over my “social media blues.” I think you know what I mean…You are posting your best work and ideas and NO ONE is responding…or liking…or interacting. You are being sucked down a black hole and no one has noticed anything you have put out there.

For a modern artist trying to share her ideas, its depressing when no one see’s anything and you can’t seem to touch peoples hearts and minds with your work. I can’t pay for impressions!

So, I am going to be a little more thoughtful in my approach and just reach out to others who know this stuff and see if I can’t change my analytic response. But, I am also learning that I need not look to social media for validation on my work.

Sig

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

